Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News & Blog > Get Involved with the Alumni Network > IDS Alumni Ambassadors

IDS Alumni Ambassadors

IDS Alumni Ambassadors are volunteers who work closely with IDS to improve alumni services, organise events and reunions as well as providing important networking opportunities.

Image: CC0 Pixabay
Image: CC0 Pixabay

IDS's 3,000+ alumni can be found in over 120 countries of the World- the majority working as development professionals. The IDS alumni network offers the unique opportunity to build professional connections and tap into a vast repository of accumulated experience and knowledge; as well as sharing memories and enjoying some social interactions! IDS Alumni Ambassadors are the first point of contact in their country of residence for students (current and prospective), IDS alumni and IDS staff. The main role of the Alumni Ambassadors is to support the IDS Alumni Office in facilitating an engaged community of alumni. IDS Alumni Ambassadors and other alumni volunteers can also apply to the IDS Alumni Fund for support in their activities.

The IDS Alumni Office shares details of all those alumni who are in the same place as them on a regular basis - to make sure you are included in this list please update your communication preferences.

Use the this map to view and contact IDS Alumni Ambassadors around the world or see below for the full list.

 

Find your Ambassador

Use the continent links listed below to narrow your search:

Africa (excluding North Africa)

CAMEROON

Yaounde, Nicoline Nwenushi Tumasang Wazeh (MAGen28) wazehwanico@yahoo.co.uk or connect/send a message


ETHIOPIA

*Addis Ababa, Genene Regassa (MAP01) g.regassa@alumni.ids.ac.uk 


GHANA

Kumasi, Ronald Adamtey (DPhil07) radamteysekade@gmail.com or connect/send a message
*Accra, VACANCY


KENYA

*Nairobi Collins Aseka (MAPov02) c.aseka@alumni.ids.ac.uk or caseka58@gmail.com or connect/send a message


NIGERIA

*Lagos Rhoda Robinson (MAGen29) robinsonrhoda@ymail.com or connect/send a message


SOUTH AFRICA

*Cape Town, Courtney Barnes (MAGlob11) courtney.barnesZA@gmail.com or connect/send a message
*Johannesburg, VACANCY


TANZANIA

Dar es Saalem, Mary Kalavo (MAGov08) m.kalavo@alumni.ids.ac.uk or connect/send a message


UGANDA

*Kampala, Emmanuel Nshakira Rukundo(MAPov04) e.rukundo@alumni.ids.ac.uk or connect/send a message


ZAMBIA

*Lusaka, VACANCY

 


ZIMBABWE

Harare, Samantha Nyamayedenga (MADev09) samanthan2012@gmail.com or connect/send a message

Back to Top

Asia

BANGLADESH

*Dhaka, Motasim Billah (MSCCCD03) mbillahr@gmail.com  or connect/send a message


*CHINA

Beijing, Ting Yang (PHD13) yangting0729@hotmail.com or connect/send a message


HONG KONG

Yuen Fun Ip (Moe) (MAP08) y.ip@alumni.ids.ac.uk  or connect/send a message


INDIA

*New Delhi, Ankush Singh (MADev11) ankush.singh@outlook.com or connect/send a message 


*INDONESIA

Jakarta, Deviana Dewi (MADev08) d.dewi@alumni.ids.ac.uk or connect/send a message


JAPAN

*Tokyo, VACANCY


NEPAL

Chabahil, Jimmy Lama (MAP07) jimmylama@gmail.com or connect/send a message


PAKISTAN

*Islamabad, Nadeem Shaukat (MP28) N.Shaukat@alumni.ids.ac.uk or connect/send a message


SOUTH KOREA

Seoul, Suhyon Oh (MAGlob04) suhyon.oh@gmail.com or connect/send a message
Back to Top

Europe

AUSTRIA

Vienna, Jakob Wieser (MAPov06) j.wieser@alumni.ids.ac.uk or connect/send a message


BELGIUM

Brussels, Hans Rhein (MP15) h.rhein@alumni.ids.ac.uk


GERMANY

Maria Kuss (MAGov11) (based in Maastricht, Netherlands) M.Kuss@alumni.ids.ac.uk or connect/send a message


*ITALY

Rome, VACANCY


SPAIN

*Madrid, VACANCY


SWITZERLAND

*Geneva, Milasoa Cherel-Robson (DP08) M.Cherel-Robson@alumni.ids.ac.uk or connect/send a message


UNITED KINGDOM

*London/Brighton, VACANCY
 

WESTERN BALKLANS

(Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, Kosovo, North Macedonia, & Albania)
Emma Quaedvlieg (MADev11) based in City of Šabac, Serbia. emma.quaedvlieg@gmail.com or connect/send a message

Back to Top

North America

*CANADA

*Toronto, Jameel Bandali (MADev02) J.Bandali@alumni.ids.ac.uk or connect/send a message

 

*UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

*Washington D.C. VACANCY
*New York City  VACANCY
Felix (Skip) Bivens (DPhil08) felixbivens@empyreanresearch.org or connect/send a message
Back to Top

Latin America

*BRAZIL

Sao Paulo, Rebeca de Rocha (MAGlob09) R.daRochaeSilva@alumni.ids.ac.uk or connect/send a message

 

COLOMBIA

Bogota, Juan Orjuela (MADev04) J.Orjuela@alumni.ids.ac.uk

 

MEXICO

*Mexico City, Roberto Castellanos (MP22) r.castellanos@alumni.ids.ac.uk or connect/send a message

 

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO / GUYANA

Shivdi Singh (MAGlob11) shivdis@gmail.com or s.singh1@alumni.ids.ac.uk or connect/send a message


Back to Top

Middle East and North Africa

EGYPT

*Cairo, Ahmed El-Assal (MAGov17) a.elassal@alumni.ids.ac.uk or connect/send a message

 

PALESTINE

Gaza City, Laila Barhoum (MAPov5) L.Barhoum@alumni.ids.ac.uk or connect/send a message

 

 

TUNISIA 

Tunis, Adel Dhahri (MAGov19) Adel.dh@impact-foundation.tn or connect/send a message

Back to Top

 

Oceania

AUSTRALIA

Melbourne, Isadora Quay (MAGen24) isadoraquay@gmail.com or connect/send a message
Back to Top



If you would like to volunteer to represent IDS as an IDS Alumni Ambassador, please complete this short form to register your interest and we will give you more information.  If a place has a * next to it this simply indicates that it is one of the places with the most IDS alumni in.

Similar stories

Image: National Park Service- field of yellow wildflowers

Yellow Monday

IDS Yellow Monday (YM) is a weekly internal newsletter for current IDS Staff and Students. YM includes news, member travel and new publications and IDS Alumni can get exclusive acc… More...

Image: 'Study' By Moyan Brenn CC-BY-2.0
Alumni Advisory Committee Members

Who are the IDS Alumni Advisory Committee? More...

Image: IDS In Summer
IDS Alumni Benefits & Discounts

IDS offers a number of key benefits to the postgraduate alumni network More...

Publishing an IDS thesis, better late than never

IDS Alumnus Wadan Narsey, blogs about publishing his thesis, and his active involvement during the 30 years prior workin… More...

Careers board game, By huppypie CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Range of Jobs with IDInsight, across countries: rolling applications

Rolling recruitment process; India, Zambia, Kenya, US, Philippines, South Africa - including interns. IDinsight helps cl… More...

Most read

Journalism by Nick Youngson CC BY-SA 3.0 ImageCreator
Why does development studies matter to journalism?

IDS student Ying Yu Chen (MADev12) tells why, for her, in order to be a journalist focusing on global issues you should consider studying development. More...

By Unknown - http://afghanistanonmymind.blogspot.com/2012/01/afghan-women-in-1920s-and-womens-rights
Women's struggle in Afghanistan: An Insight from a Human Rights perspective

Current student Nandhini Jaishankar's (MADev13) looks at what the history of women in Afghanistan tells us about women's rights as Human Rights More...

Image: Istock
FAQs on IDS Email for Life

Answering some Frequently Asked Questions on the email for life service from IDS More...

Submit your blog

 
This website is powered by
ToucanTech